A Ragamuffin in the Posh Marble Bathroom

Did I tell you about the time I got ready for work in the company bathroom?
No I haven’t because it happened just this morning, and it was lovely! 

Ol’ Jonny Boy had to leave early this morning to catch a plane to Norfolk to meet the ship, and the airport is about 2 miles from where I work.  Our plan, then, was that we would leave the house by 6am, and I would just go straight to the office after dropping Jon off.

You see… (<— I just said that in my head, in Bill Cosby’s voice) I am not a good morning person.  I like to stay in bed until the last minute, whether or not I am still sleepy.  My main goal is to stay as comfy and snuggly in bed as I can.  Sometimes, I like to see how long I can stay in bed before Jon starts getting firm and authoritative with me, “Honey, No!! You MUST get up right now!” Then he stands over me, rips the covers off of me, and points at the door. I know that the fun is now over.

So being that I am a sleepyhead, I figured out how to maximize my sleep/snuggle time. I took a shower last night knowing we would have to get up at 5:30am; I packed a bag with my clothes, make-up, and straightening iron. Why not just get dressed and fix my face in the office rather than get up way earlier, or rather than driving hither and yon from downtown to airport to downtown back to the office?

The alarm went off – Jon got up and got himself together.  I woke up, washed my face, brushed my teeth, checked the clothes bag and I was ready to go. He packed up the car, and we took off!  After I dropped him off, and cried like a baby. Next, I went over to the Starbucks and got some breakfast. Then, I headed to the office. This is when the fun began!

I work in a big office building with many floors and many companies inside it.  There is a very nice ground floor bathroom, where I knew I could get myself dressed and ready. After I dropped of my laptop at my desk, I made my way to the bathroom, set my things nicely on the marble counter top, plugged in my iron, pulled out the make-up bag, sipped on my Starbucks Pumpkin Spice Latte, and got to business.

This is the actual office building where I currently work. So shiny and fancy!
Image Credt: marshallwalker.com

I have never gotten ready for work in a company bathroom.  However, this was kind of nice, as it put me to mind of the fun times getting ready for plays or video shoots anywhere there was a mirror and some light.

Then…. THEN, I say….. people began coming into the bathroom. Oh, and this was the greatest!  I guess it isn’t a common practice for people to get ready in an office building bathroom, but I was getting the most odd, confused, and disgusted looks as I stood there primping myself for the workday. These women looked horrified! None where women I worked with, who would have just said “Sarah, what are you doing?” These women had no idea who I was, and didn’t want to know!!  It was just hilarious to me….. and it reminded me of the old Three Stooges or Marx Bros films where the one rich older lady walks about gasping and flying her nose in the air at the respective comedy teams “low class” antics.

Perhaps I should tell you what I was wearing this morning. I was dressed in my oversized, messy, most comfy, grey sweatpants that display a huge multi-color peace sign on the left thigh. I was also wearing a charcoal t-shirt with a hippie green tree of life on the front.  My hair was still in the bed-head mode, and I had no make-up on, and swollen red eyes from crying earlier. I must have looked liked some wild, homeless hippie who possibly sneaks in to office bathrooms to bathe in early morning hours.  I honestly didn’t think I looked that shabby, and it was 6:45 in the morning….. but — these other ladies seemed to disagree.

Me & my stuff in the posh, marble, office bathroom.

It was surely a hilarious treat, and helped rid me of the blues I was having for sending Jon off on a plane. The pumpkin spice latte was a treat helped, too! 

Leave a Reply

