Everything I Know, I Learned from Bugs Bunny….

Everything I Know, I Learned from Bugs Bunny & Looney Tunes.

Ok, well I guess that isn’t completely true, but there is quite a high ratio of things in the world that my brain instantly associates with some Looney Tunes cartoon or character.

Take for instance my love of, and my knowledge of Opera. I know that it came first from Looney Tunes & Bugs Bunny, and secondly from my grandmother (Maw) who further cultivated my interest in opera, symphony, and all other classical forms. Maw was a trained and talented pianist, who was well versed in classical music, opera, ballet, and the arts. She taught me so very much about performance art, symphony, and music.  BUT!  Bugs Bunny did too.  Just off the top of my head I can list Wagner’s “Ride of the Valkyries”, Rossini’s “Barber of Seville”, Von Suppe’s “Morning, Noon and Night in Vienna”, Brahms’ Hungarian Dances, Liszt’s Hungarian Rhapsody, Strauss’ The Blue Danube…. All I was first exposed to from Looney Tunes Cartoons.

Another example of things I know from Bugs Bunny??  Fricassee.  I first learned of that style of stew from Bugs, and Bugs alone.

“Well, what are we waiting for? Let’s start the fire and fricassee him. You start the kindling and I’ll get the coal.” ~ Bugs Bunny

“Fricassee Rabbit, glazed in carrot sauce…drool, drool!” ~ Daffy Duck

So we have been fighting some cold or sinus thing the past few days.  Monday, Jon was feeling the worst.  He wanted, naturally, some healthy comfort food.  He told me he wanted to make fricassee.

Fricassee??!“, I thought the word in my mind in Bugs Bunny’s voice.  I then thought,  “I have never had fricassee.  I have only heard of it through cartoons! Looney Tunes, you’ve bested me again!”

Well Jon cooked a lovely meal of Chicken Fricassee. We used the Rosemary Garlic Sourdough I made to pair with it and sop up all the delicious gravy.  Quite a savory meal! It was just the thing for our being under the weather – and it was a good transition into fall meal.

So this fricassee word association really made me realize how influential Looney Tunes has been on my life and my mind.  I suppose this could be a really sad state of affairs.  However, I think it’s a bit brilliant…. I sort of like it.

“And remember, ‘Mud’ spelled backwards is ‘dum’!” ~Bugs Bunny

2 thoughts on “Everything I Know, I Learned from Bugs Bunny….

Leave a Reply

